Being True To Who You Are

“About all you can do in life is be true to who YOU are…Some will love you…Some will respect you…And some won’t like you at all… Make no apologies for who you are.  Have no regrets for whom you’ve become.  Continue to be true to yourself and watch the miracle of YOU unfold.” ~

It wasn’t long ago, actually just hours ago that I was faced with a dilemma:  Should I retract a comment I made or should I stand firm?

The question of retracting only came up because of the reaction said comment had from someone I thought I knew.  However, the more I thought about it, the more this reaction became a clear portrait of the person I thought I knew.

So I held my ground.  It is true that you cannot make everyone happy, so I opted for keeping myself happy and not retracting.  Today I feel better because of it.

But how many succumb to the pressure of outside forces?

Ridicule, at times, has been the modus operandi of those who wish to intimidate us into their way of thinking.  As of late, dialogue between parties has been severely damaged if not broken all together.  No one seems to want to listen, no one seems to want to talk.  Everyone just wants to yell.  The louder the better.  Most think that because an opinion is not equal to theirs that the voice should not be heard, that its input has no value.

Long ago I made the decision to express what I believe for what I believe is who I am.  If you’re not in agreement with my opinion you have choices.  You can ignore it and move on.  You can present yours and open dialogue.  Or, you can try to intimidate me into accepting yours as my own.  Guess which one will not work.

When you’re faced with a dilemma such as mine, I challenge you to “Be True To Who You Are.  It’s The Only YOU You Have!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment